Art Victoria Now – 2017

Art Now Introduction

The Victoria Arts Council is pleased to host the 3rd annual Art Victoria Now Juried Fine Arts Show, taking place in Victoria’s Atrium building (800 Yates Street) from May 20-25, 2017. The exhibition consists of high-quality work by artists residing in Victoria and the surrounding areas. A varied of mediums are featured, including two-dimensional, three-dimensional, photography and, a new category this year: fine craft. An expert panel of jurors selected 77 outstanding works for inclusion in Art Victoria Now out of over 600 entries in order to create this dynamic fine arts exhibition.

We are extremely proud of this event that exhibits original art from the people we call neighbors. Congratulations to all artists participating in Art Now 2017!



Category Winners
2D
'Man'
Mia Watkins
$1500
danica119@hotmail.com
3D
'Viveka '
Samantha
$4800
sam@samanthadickie.com
Fine Craft
'Bow Lamp'
Mike Randall
$2400, Custom Order 2
Mike@kurvadesign.ca
Photography
'Moss Chair (2016)'
Natasha Lavdovsky
$900
tasha.lavdovsky@gmail.com



2D
''but then''
Anne Petrie
$300
annepetrie150@gmail.com
'abundance'
rose cowles
$2650
rosecowlesart@gmail.com
'BIJOUX'
Judy Larsen
$2150
judy.laren88@gmail.com
'Canadian North Coast'
Kristin E Backlund
$550
metback55@gmail.com
'Clover Point'
Mike Lathrop
$900
bigmike@bigmikestudios.com
'Cranberry Bog'
Paul McNair
$495
mrpaulmcnair@gmail.com
'entrance island'
gordon m. friesen
$395
studio1240@shaw.ca
'Fisgard Green Grocer'
Robin Woodworth
$400
woodworthrobin@gmail.com
'Fish Boat Bay'
Eduard Kajdasz
$650
emkajdasz@shaw.ca
'Floral IX - Untidy Arrangement'
Pgone Praparattanapan
$495
ppth69@hotmail.com
'Forest Light 35'
David Ladmore
$4200
davidlaurieladmore@shaw.ca
'Fortune Cookies'
Pan Tan
$555
petsinarts@yahoo.com
'Free As A Bird'
Arden Rose
$325
ardenroseart@gmail.com
'Goldstream Trees'
Mike Lathrop
$1550
bigmike@bigmikestudios.com
'Great Horned Owl Fledglings'
Michael Beseau
$500
m-beseau@shaw.ca
'Home to Liza'
Paul McNair
$495
mrpaulmcnair@gmail.com
'Immortal Peach'
Alexandra Reid
$395
lexi.reid.studio@gmail.com
'Jelka von Langen'
Meagan Berlin
$650
mberlin@live.com
'Let's pretend we're nice.'
Don Smith
$800
dsmith@noodlebox.net
'Light Reflections'
German Jaramillo-Mckenzie
$1800
germanjillo@gmail.com
'love letters in blue'
rose cowles
$875
rosecowlesart@gmail.com
'Magpie Jay'
Michael Beseau
$300
m-beseau@shaw.ca
'Moorland 23'
David Ladmore
$4000
davidlaurieladmore@shaw.ca
'Morning in Maroon'
Virginia Ronning
$350
virginia.ronning@telus.net
'Nex time around I'm gonna be a pole dancer'
sheila watson
$450
euphemias@shaw.ca
'Okonkwo'
Mia Watkins
$3500
danica119@hotmail.com
'Phillips Brewery'
Mitchell Villa
$1290
info@mitchellvilla.com
'Pondego'
Alexandra Ashby
$350
aashby42@gmail.com
'Quicksilver'
Alexandra Reid
$395
lexi.reid.studio@gmail.com
'Samaritan Woman with Phonograph'
Luke
$350
resolute.garrison@gmail.com
'Self-portrait: Disingenuous'
Meagan Berlin
$545
mberlin@live.com
'Snow, Cooper's Cove'
Robin Woodworth
$400
woodworthrobin@gmail.com
'Soft Focus'
Jane Michiel
$850
janegirljane@hotmail.com
'Some More Pull'
Roxanne Martin
$1000
martin.roxanne@gmail.com
'Spilling Light'
Pauline Truong
$400
pttfinearts@shaw.ca
'Thelma's Party'
Sheryl Fisher
$875
s.fisher.studio@gmail.com
'TIDAL POOL'
Shelley Wuitchik
$3000
wuitchik@gmail.com
'Tofino'
Kristofer Parley
$1100
kristoferparley@gmail.com
'Tomorrow I'll try. Maybe.'
Don Smith
$500
dsmith@noodlebox.net
'Two Ward (dyp)'
michael silk
$800
mikesilk@shaw.ca
'When everything was beautiful and nothing hurt'
Lisa Jackson
$350
lisa.jackson@shaw.ca
'Wild Roses #3'
Laurie Ladmore
$575
laurieladmore@shaw.ca
'Wired'
Lorna Bergen
$800
lornaberg@shaw.ca



3D
'Ancient Ceremony'
Derek Kasper
$750
Derek@NoTwoAlike.ca
'Atoms'
Samantha
$2400
sam@samanthadickie.com
'Hopeful Monster (#2 of an edition of 6)'
Karina Kalvaitis
$450
karina@karinakalvaitis.com
'Manoraven'
Daniel Poisson
$4000
'Mermaid's Table III'
Marianne Goodrich
$500
mariannegoodrich@telus.net
'Order'
Gordon Asselstine
$2200
asselstine.terry@gmail.com
'Portal'
Steven Stairs
$1800
sgstairs@yahoo.ca
'Relic'
Gordon Asselstine
$1200
asselstine.terry@gmail.com
'Stable Chair'
Robert Davy
$300
rdavy101@gmail.com
'The Blue Dress'
Carolyn Houg
$550
choug@shaw.ca
'The Guardian'
Carolyn Houg
$550
choug@shaw.ca



Fine Craft
'All in white'
Darlene Letendre
$495
darlet@telus.net
'Bubbles'
Ken Guenter
$1200
kenguenter@shaw.ca
'Midnight visitor'
Darlene Letendre
$495
darlet@telus.net
'Radial Ash'
Derek Kasper
$425
Derek@NoTwoAlike.ca
'Silver Rain'
Linda Rajotte
$480
lrajotte@shaw.ca
'Weathered Urn'
Derek Kasper
$325
Derek@NoTwoAlike.ca



Photography
'Alone'
Zilu Zhang
$300
ziluzhang95@icloud.com
'Boardwalk Langford BC'
Gregory Varano
$400
gv.filmnoir@gmail.com
'Hearts on Fire'
Keith Boone
$300
boone.keith@gmail.com
'HomeWork'
Bob St. Cyr
$450
PhotoBob@live.ca
'POINT HOPE SHIPYARD'
Nick Salvador
$300
nicksalv@hotmail.com
'Pumpkin Field'
Zilu Zhang
$300
ziluzhang95@icloud.com
'Quadruple Trees'
Joan Cahill
$350
joan.cahill@shaw.ca
'Shadow Geometry'
Bob St. Cyr
$550
brsc@uvic.ca
'Storm Clouds Wiffen Spit Sooke BC'
Gregory Varano
$400
gv.filmnoir@gmail.com
'The Threshold'
Terence Marner
$550
tdjmarner@marner.ca
'Wrecks - Reclamations Series '
Robert Lovett
$925
lovett_r@yahoo.ca


Arts Council Info:

The Victoria Arts Council (formerly the Community Arts Council of Greater Victoria), was established in 1968 as a non-profit organization and registered charity. The VAC embraces all arts disciplines and helps support the rich cultural diversity and heritage in Greater Victoria. We present diverse arts-based events and programming throughout the year at multiple venues throughout the region and at our headquarters location (636 Fort Street, The Bay Centre). Our activities are open to all those within our community. We welcome artists and performers of all disciplines and at all levels, from emerging to established. For more information on the Victoria Arts Council, please visit www.vicartscouncil.ca.

Art Now Jurors:

Neil Bosdet

Founder Acres Away Woodworks; President of Vancouver Island Woodworkers Guild; President of Island Artisans Association

Emily Dobby

Gallery Coordinator, Trounce Alley Gallery

Alison Ross

Owner/Auctioneer/Appraiser, Kilshaw’s Auctioneers

Martin Seggar

Professor Emeritus UVic, Past Director Maltwood Art Museum, Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, and Fellow of the Canadian Museums Association.

Blu Smith

Canadian Contemporary Artist

Peter Such

Professor Emeritus York University; President, Victoria College of Art; President,Victoria Arts Council

Michael Warren

Owner, Madrona Gallery